Answers to your

Frequently Asked Questions

General

Getting started is easy! Simply create an account to get access to your patient portal and start the process today!

Have questions before getting started? Call us at (801) 872-8051.

For a detailed, step-by-step process, see our New Patient Guide.

There are 15 conditions in which patients may qualify for a medical marijuana card in the state of Utah.

  • Chronic Pain
  • PTSD
  • Cancer
  • Persistent Nausea
  • Multiple Sclerosis & Muscle Spasms
  • Crohn’s Disease & Ulcerative Colitis
  • Epilepsy & Seizures
  • Autism
  • HIV/AIDS
  • Rare Conditions
  • Terminal Illness &
  • Hospice
  • Cachexia
  • Alzheimer’s
  • ALS

The minimum age for legal use is 21 years old.

For those under the age of 21, patients must submit a patient petition form to the compassionate use board (CUB), which  that meets once a month to review each patient’s case.

Once the patient petition form is submitted, the CUB has 90 days to complete the review.

The cost for the medical marijuana evaluation and approval with Utah Canna is $250.

New Renewals are $150 with a full guarantee that you will get your money back if you are not approved.

As for the state of Utah, they charge a $15 registration fee separate from Utah Canna’s fees. This fee must be paid to become state-certified after approval.

  • Patient Cards
    • Must be 21 years or older
  • Guardian Cards
    • For parents or legal guardians of minors who meet eligibility requirements
  • Provisional Patient Cards
    • For minors under the age of 18
    • Must get approval from the Compassion use Board
  • Caregiver Cards
    • Adults 21 years of age and older who care for patient cardholders who are unable to procure or consume medical cannabis on their own
  • Non-Utah Resident Cards
    • Cards are good for 21 days at a time, and may only be issues twice per year.

Within a 30-day period, patients may possess or purchase no more than:

  • 113 grams of unprocessed marijuana (flower) and
  • 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms

Currently, there are 14 Dispensaries medical cannabis cardholders can purchase cannabis:

Unfortunately, we do not take insurance.

In fact, because all health insurance companies are regulated by federal statutes and guidelines, they will not cover the cost of the visit or even product.

However, you can still pay using your FSA or HSA card, as well as any credit card.

If your medical condition isn’t on the list of qualifying conditions, you may still qualify in 1 of 2 ways:

  1. Because chronic pain is a symptom of many diseases & conditions, and because it is a qualifying condition, you may still apply.
  2. If you do not qualify with the above, you may petition the compassionate use board (CUB) for a Medical Cannabis Card, which meets monthly to review each case.

Medical cannabis can be consumed in the following ways, according to the Utah Medical Cannabis Act:

  • Tablet or Capsule
  • Concentrated Oil (cartridges)
  • Liquid Suspension
  • Topical Lotion or Cream
  • Transdermal Preparation or Patch
  • Sublingual Preparation or Tincture
  • Gelatinous cube (gummies)
  • Unprocessed Cannabis Flower
  • Wax

Smoking cannabis in Utah is illegal, however, the use of any device that can vaporize the flower is permitted.

Having cannabis in any edible form other than what is described above is illegal.

No. Currently, no patient in Utah is allowed to grown their own marijuana.

While the original language in Proposition 2 did allow for home cultivation, Utah lawmaker amended what voters passed with HB3001, removing all language that permitted home growing by patients.

Yes! When applying for your Medical Cannabis card using the UDOH’s electronic verification system (EVS), you may use your passport or out of state ID to apply.

There are 4 types of medical professionals that the UDOH allows to recommend Medical Cannabis:

  • Medical Doctors (MD)
  • Osteopathic Physicians (DO)
  • Advanced Practice Registered Nurses (APRN)
  • Physician Assistants (PA)

All practitioners must be Utah-licensed, as well as complete art least 4 hours of department approved education.

No. CBD is legal to purchase by anyone in Utah, as long as it contains 0.03% or less of THC.

Anything that contains more than that can be purchased only at a Medical Cannabis Pharmacy.

Currently, there are 14 medical cannabis pharmacies cardholders can purchase from:

Yes. All cannabis products are required to be tested for:

  • Potency
  • Foreign matter
  • Heavy metals
  • Microbes
  • Moisture content
  • Pesticides
  • Solvents
  • Toxins

Card-Related

All initial certifications and renewals are valid for 6 months.

Once a cardholder has had their card for a year, they may then make a request to their QMP to be put on an annual renewal schedule.

The EVS fee for patient cards is $15 for both initial and renewal visits.

Other less common fees are listed below:

  • Guardian Card
    • Initial: $68.25
    • Renewals: $24
  • Caregiver Card
    • Initial: $68.25
    • Renewals: $14
  • Non-Utah Resident Card
    • $15

Usually withing 1 business day, once your QMP has certified you at your appointment.

That being said, once an application is submitted, the state must either approve or deny it within 15 business days.

The minimum age for legal use is 21 years old.

For those under the age of 21, patients must submit a patient petition form to the compassionate use board (CUB), which  that meets once a month to review each patient’s case.

Once the patient petition form is submitted, the CUB has 90 days to complete the review.

  • Patient Cards
    • Must be 21 years or older
  • Guardian Cards
    • For parents or legal guardians of minors who meet eligibility requirements
  • Provisional Patient Cards
    • For minors under the age of 18
    • Must get approval from the Compassion use Board
  • Caregiver Cards
    • Adults 21 years of age and older who care for patient cardholders who are unable to procure or consume medical cannabis on their own
  • Non-Utah Resident Cards
    • Cards are good for 21 days at a time, and may only be issues twice per year.

Yes, as long as the visiting patient has a Utah Qualifying Condition and registers in EVS for a Non-Utah Resident Card.

Non-Utah Resident Cards are valid for 21 days, and can only be issued twice per calendar year.

You can view your QMP’s name in your EVS account by following these directions:

  1. Log into EVS
  2. Click on ‘Tracking Inbox
  3. Click your name
  4. Click the ‘Patient Certification‘ tab
  5. Your assigned QMP will be listed on your most recent certification

Utah issues patients a new card for every renewal. This means that your new card won’t be activated until your current card has expired.

This happens for 2 reasons (usually):

  1. You have yet to pay your renewal fee in EVS.
  2. The state is requiring additional information from you. This is rare for renewals.
    • Check your email or EVS account for any messages from the Department of Health regarding such instances.

 

EVS & UtahID

EVS, or ‘Electronic Verification System‘, is Utah state’s online portal for patients to apply for a medical cannabis card.

It also what qualified medical providers use to issues patient medical card certifications and manage patients’ dosing recommendations.

To access your EVS account, you must first create a UtahID account.

Similar to a passport, UtahID is Utah’s online portal that gives Utah residents access to all the state’s services from one place.

Both UtahID and EVS are synced to work together, meaning that logging into your UtahID account automatically logs you in your EVS account.

Once logged into UtahID, you can access your EVS account by going to evs.utah.gov.

First log into you EVS account and check your status.

If your status is on ‘Awaiting State Review,’ this means your QMP has certified you and that you are now awaiting the state to approve your application.

This process normally doesn’t take longer than 1 business day. However, the state reserves the right to take up to 15 business to approve an application once a QMP has certified you.

Once your application has been approved, your status will change to “Active,” at which point the state will notify via email.

 

This is the point where you will need to notify your Qualified Medical Provider that you are ready to be certified, after which they will enter a recommendation into EVS for you.

If you are a patient of Utah Canna and are having any issues with this process, please call (801) 872-8051.

  1. Log into EVS
  2. Click on ‘Tracking Inbox
  3. Click your name
  4. Click on the blue ‘Print Card‘ button in the upper left area

Note: Many medical marijuana pharmacies in the state will print your card for you if you ask.

Additionally, displaying your card on your smartphone is acceptable to gain access.

  1. Before getting started, ensure that:
  2. Log into EVS
  3. Click ‘Tracking Inbox’
  4. Click your name
  5. Click on the ‘Payment’ tab
  6. Click the ‘+New’ button
  7. Click the blue ‘Click here to pay’ button
  8. Enter your payment information
  9. Click ‘Submit’
  1. Be within 30 days of your card’s expiration date
  2. Log into EVS
  3. Click ‘Tracking Inbox’
  4. Click your name
  5. Click on the blue ‘Save & Submit Certification’ button
  6. You status will change to ‘Awaiting Certification.’
  7. Make a renewal appointment with your QMP so that they may certify your renewal.

Legal

No. The Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) has  stated that marijuana has a ‘high potential for abuse, no currently accepted medical use in treatment, and a lack of accepted safety for use under medical supervision.

If you currently have a Medical Cannabis Card:

  • And submit an application to obtain a Utah concealed firearm permit (CFP), and the Bureau of Criminal Identification (BCI) knows you have a medical cannabis card, your application WILL be denied.

If you currently have a Utah CFP:

  • And obtain a medical cannabis card, and the BCI finds out, your permit WILL be revoked.

If law enforcement finds you in possession of a firearm with a Medical Cannabis Card:

  • They cannot confiscate your Utah CFP. But they can notify BCI. If this happens, your permit WILL be revoked.

Unless it is a medical emergency, patients must consume cannabis on private property and out of public view.

Renters:

  • Medical cannabis users are not a protected class, therefore, there is no protection for cardholding renters who possess medical marijuana.

Employees:

  • While state and local employees have some limited protection, employees working in the private sector are subject to their employer’s policies, and are not legally required to accommodate any patients’ use of Medical Cannabis.

Within a 30-day period, patients may possess or purchase no more than:

  • 113 grams of unprocessed marijuana (flower) and
  • 20 grams of total composite THC in all other medicinal dosage forms

Possession of marijuana without a state-issued medical card is illegal in Utah, and can result in up to 15 years in prison plus a $10,000 fine.

To legally consumer marijuana in Utah with an out-of-state medical card, a visiting patient must:

  • Have a Utah qualifying condition, and
  • Register in EVS for a Non-Utah Resident Card

No.

The sale of any amount is a second degree felony punishable by a maximum sentence of 5 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.

It is unlawful in the state of Utah to drive, operate or be actual physical control of a vehicle is the person is under the influence of any drug, including Medical Cannabis.

It is also illegal to drive with any measurable amount of marijuana or marijuana metabolite present.

Topics

We Have Answers

Questions?

Want to know more? Talk to a certified doctor today!